Review: Siam Kitchen (Nex)

Went to Nex Shopping Mall to eat dinner as I was too lazy to cook. My husband usually makes faces at me when I try to add chili to anything so I saw this as a great opportunity to order a chili dish. More for me to eat too since he doesn’t like it! Hahhaa!

IMG_3217[1]
Ordered the Tom Yam with Rice Noodles. Isn’t it the first thing you think of when you hear “Thai food”? It looks fiery and smelt ok. 

After taking a bite I was a little disappointed. It wasn’t spicy enough for me :(. The soup was tasty for the first sip or two then it mysteriously started to taste flat. The spiciness had disappeared and all I could taste was some sourness and maybe a hint of chili oil. 

Then again, my tastebuds have probably been burnt beyond repair by my mother’s cooking. I grew up with extreme chili training. Heh. My mum included a lot of chili padi in her dishes. It’s also known as Bird’s Eye chili, I think. Used to be the hottest on earth until people discovered new chili plants. 
Anyway, the restaurant was ok. Ample space and wasn’t too noisy. Cutlery and tabletops were clean enough and the air-conditioning wasn’t too cold. 
The food. Well. I expected more. The dishes we had were just ok and nothing fantastic. About the same as food court Thai food. 

Someone once told me that if you want Thai food, go to a restaurant that’s run by real Thais. According to that piece of intel, real places have pictures of the King and Queen of Thailand proudly displayed on a wall and will usually play popular Thai songs. 

Overall?

I don’t think I’ll go back again. 

Leave a comment